Soft Mobility Spaces Summer School

The Summer School Soft Mobility Spaces will take place in July 2020 - supervised by professors Silvia Gron and Luca Barello - with the participation of atelier mobile – Torino and is open to Architecture Master's degree and PhD students from all over the world. The School will take place in Torino and at the headquarters of the Val di Susa Mountain Union in Bussoleno.

The topic is linked to the ongoing project of the Greenway or Ciclovia Francigena along the Val di Susa which involves 20 municipalities in its development. Starting from the analysis of the sites and of specific areas to design the complementary space to the way or places to support soft mobility activities. The scope of work is to prefigure small permanent architectures in the ways intersections, in the rest places, in the viewpoint on the landscape at the service of walkers or cyclists. That will be done designing a repeatable module, and to building a a 1:1 mock-up through the study of technological nodes and models at various scales, that will be presented to the local community with the aim of launching an awareness program for sustainable tourism.

This specific topic will be investigated during the summer school weeks through seminar sessions,  site surveys, planning and construction activities, that will involve all the stakeholders in the area who are interested in an active participation to the process, also planning to organize some initiatives open to the community.

The Summer School will have an independent website, through which it will be possible to access information and updates in real time.


Politecnico di Torino+atelier mobile - Soft Mobility Spaces

Leaflet application/pdf (5.86 MB)


20 -31 July 2020

Formative Credits




Silvia Gron (Politecnico di Torino), Luca Barello (atelier mobile)

Scientific Committee

Silvia Gron (Politecnico di Torino), Luca Barello (atelier mobile), Roberto Giordano (Politecnico di Torino), Eleonora Girodo (Unione montana Val di Susa), Jacopo Spatola (Bikehub)


Giulia La Delfa, Niccolò Suraci e Cristiano Tosco (atelier mobile)

Organizational Secretariat

Fabrizia Muci, Emiljan Prenga, Corrado Scudellaro

Partner Universities

ENSALI Lille (F), ENSASE Saint Etienne (F), Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Escuela de Arquitectura (E)


Armelle Varsin (ENSALI), Silvana Segapeli (ENSASE), Evelyn Alonso-Rohner and José Antonio Sosa (ULPGC),

Fulvio Capurso, Francesca Chessa, Antonio De Rossi, Roberto Dini, Federico Eugeni, Paolo Golinelli, Luca Lazzarini, Pino Pace, Chiara Occelli, Riccardo Palma, Fabio Revetria, Paola Rizzi, Riccardo Rudiero, Lara Sappa, Elisabetta Vitale Brovarone

Technical assistance

Lastin – Politecnico di Torino



20 master and PhD students in architecture (10 from Politecnico di Torino, 10 from other universities).

Call for students

available from 7 April 2020 to 7 May 2020. Admission notice: 10 May.

Early bird sign up: before 30 May (fee 150,00 €), before 30 June (200,00 €)